Go back to normal view

 

Spirituality

Spirituality is concerned with our relationship with God and how that relationship is experienced, nourished and expressed through the whole of our lives.

District Spirituality Advisers:

Valerie Wright :          v.wright@grailsociety.org.uk

Margaret Smithson :  margaret@smithson85.plus.com

Our role as spiritual  advisors is to encourage and help clergy and lay people in the district to nourish, develop and live out their relationship with God.  Amongst other things, we offer help with leading Quiet Days, exploration of prayer, spiritual direction and retreats, and information on Weeks of Accompanied Prayer.  Below is a list of contacts across the District that may be of help in resourcing spirituality matters.  Please feel free to contact either of us if you would like more information about a specific need or question.

Many people  find it helpful to meet regularly with a trained person to talk about the place of God in their lives and how they are living out their faith.  This is often called "spiritual direction"; the director, however, will not tell you what to do or how to pray.  They are there to accompany you on your spiritual journey and help you  to discern where God is leading you.  Below are contacts of "link" people who will put you in touch with possible directors:

Contacts for finding a Spiritual Director:

Portsmouth Catholic Diocese – Caroline Virgo – cvirgo@portsmouthdiocese.org.uk

Portsmouth Anglican Diocese – Ruth Tuschling – ruth.tuschling@portsmouth.anglican.org

Winchester Anglican Diocese – Sally Dakin sallydakin@winchester.anglican.org

Salisbury Anglican Diocese – Ian Cowley ian.cowley@salisbury.anglican.org

Chichester Anglican Diocese – Andrew Mayes andrew.mayes@chichester.anglican.org

Roman Catholic Diocese of Arundel and Brighton – Spiritual Direction Network - Teresa Brooks              teresa_brooks_bisley@hotmail.com

Jackie Foster            jackie@fosterja.co.uk

Caroline King           caromking8@gmail.com

Guildford Anglican Diocese – Andrew Tuck Andrew.tuck@cofeguildford.org.uk

Spirituality-on-the-web
Have you ever thought of praying in front of your computer?  There are a number of helpful websites; here are a few different ones:
www.lostinwonder.org.uk (a Methodist online labyrinth)
www.sacredspace.ie
www.trypraying.co.uk
www.rejesus.co.uk/spirituality

Venues for Quiet Days/Retreats:

Green Pastures, Poole.  www.green-pastures.org

The Wisdom Centre, Romsey.  www.wisdomhouseromsey.org.uk

Crowe Hill Methodist Church, nr. Ringwood.  Wardens:  Claire and Brian Skelley skelleyb@btinternet.com

Silchester Methodist Church.  ebenezer@readingmethodists.org.uk

Information on retreats can be obtained from:

The Retreat Association  -  info@retreats.org.uk 

See also: ‘Retreats’ – the annual publication of the Association which lists Retreat Houses across the UK together with programmes of retreats/events.

Julian Groups

Julian meetings are groups of people who meet regularly in order to grow in the practice of contemplative prayer in the Christian tradition.  Julian meetings welcome people of all denominations or none.  For information about Julian groups in your area, please contact:

The Julian Meetings, the Firs, Lewes Rd, Ringmer, BN8 5EY www.julianmeetings.org

The World Council for Christian Meditation 

A world-wide organisation started by the late John Main which promotes Christian meditation in groups and as individuals.  For more information, see www.wccm.org

Training for Spiritual Directors

Ecumenical Spiritual Direction Course – a 2 year part-time training course; 3 terms per year meeting fortnightly.  More information from Margaret Smithson, District Spirituality Adviser, or contact:

Catholic Bible School, Farm Lane, Nutbourne, Chichester, W. Sussex. PO18 8SD Tel: 01243 371766 

Email: livingword@catholic-bible-school.org  www.catholic-bible-school.org